2022 Annual Meeting

May 18, 2022

STARaCom held its Annual General Meeting on Wednesday, May 18, 2022, at McGill University’s NRH Conference Centre. Benoit Boulet, McGill Associate VP-Innovation & Partnerships, welcomed the 146 attendees to the day-long event, which included guest speakers, presentations from some of our members on newly funded research projects, and project presentations from some STARaCom scholarship recipients. Janice Bailey, Scientific Director of the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature and Technologies (FRQNT), closed the morning program.

A team of STARaCom students organized a poster/demo competition in the afternoon. Judges selected the following prize winners from 45 entries:

 1. Zohre Pourgholamhossein (INRS):

“Broadband Flat-Lens Antenna Design Using Ultrathin ‎Huygens’ Metasurface for Millimeter-Wave ‎Applications” (Prof. Tayeb Denidni, supervisor)

2. Jasmine Boparai (McGill):

“Design and Characterization of Experimental Phantoms at Microwave Frequencies for Skin Cancer Detection” (Prof. Milica Popovic, supervisor)  

3. Ajaypal Singh Dhillon (McGill):

On-Chip Antennas in Silicon Photonics” (Prof. O. Liboiron-Ladouceur, supervisor)